Books > Movers & Shakers > Literature & Fiction







Price: $16.20 ($27.00)

(as of 2016-07-31 07:02:28 PST)

You save $10.80 (40%)

Usually ships in 24 hours

Literature & Fiction

Rating: 3.6 / 5.0 (530 votes)

Released: 2016-06-14

Buying Choices

81 new from $10.67
38 used from $12.00
17 collectible from $16.00

(as of 2016-07-31 07:02:28 PST)








The Girls: A Novel by Emma Cline

Description

An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.
 
Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.
 
Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.

Advance praise for The Girls
 
The Girls is a brilliant and intensely consuming novel—imposing not just for a writer so young, but for any writer, any time.”—Richard Ford
 
“Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture’s fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind.”—Lena Dunham

“Emma Cline’s first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction.”—Jennifer Egan
 
“I don’t know which is more amazing, Emma Cline’s understanding of human beings or her mastery of language.”—Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time


Check All Offers Add to WishList Customer Reviews


Book Details

Author: Emma Cline Publisher: Random House Binding: Hardcover Language: English Pages: 368

Similar Books

Homegoing: A novel
Sweetbitter: A novel
Modern Lovers
Girls on Fire: A Novel
Rich and Pretty: A Novel


Comments




Become a fan of Your #1 Source for Kindle eBooks from the Amazon Kindle Store! on Facebook for the inside scoop on latest and most exclusive books.

SimpleTrack