Books > Movers & Shakers > Literature & Fiction







Price: $16.20 ($27.00)

(as of 2016-07-17 07:02:35 PST)

You save $10.80 (40%)

Usually ships in 24 hours

Literature & Fiction

Rating: 4.0 / 5.0 (83 votes)

Released: 2016-06-28

Buying Choices

36 new from $12.52
12 used from $13.49
1 collectible from $35.95

(as of 2016-07-17 07:02:35 PST)








Missing, Presumed: A Novel by Susie Steiner

Description

A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case

“An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George.”—Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer

“Wonderfully written . . . surprise-filled . . . Detective Bradshaw’s biting wit is a bonus.”The Wall Street Journal

Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it.”Redbook

“A new and complex police heroine . . . a highly charismatic and engaging story.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French.”Booklist

At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep—and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene.

Edith Hind—a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family—has been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big—and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive.

The investigation starts with Edith’s loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith’s tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to her disappearance. With no clear leads, Manon summons every last bit of her skill and intuition to close the case, and what she discovers will have shocking consequences not just for Edith’s family but for Manon herself.

Suspenseful and keenly observed, Missing, Presumed is a brilliantly twisting novel of how we seek connection, grant forgiveness, and reveal the truth about who we are.

Praise for Missing, Presumed

“Drenched in character and setting, with pinpoint detail that breathes life and color into every sentence.”The News & Observer

“A vein of dark humor pulses beneath this compelling whodunit with an appealing, complicated heroine at its center.”Publishers Weekly

“Where [Susie] Steiner excels is in the depth and clarity with which she depicts her characters. . . . It all adds up to a world that feels much bigger than the novel in which it is contained.”The Guardian

“Detective Sergeant Manon Bradshaw is appealing, multifaceted, and unforgettable. She charges through Missing, Presumed with twin goals—to find the body, and to find durable love. The resolution of this gripping novel astonishes, and leaves a long afterglow.”—Amity Gaige, author of Schroder

“Manon Bradshaw is a messed-up, big-hearted detective in the best tradition.”—Harriet Lane, author of Her

“Gripping, authentic, funny, and moving, Missing, Presumed hits the sweet spot between literary and crime fiction.”—Erin Kelly, author of Broadchurch


Check All Offers Add to WishList Customer Reviews


Book Details

Author: Susie Steiner Publisher: Random House Binding: Hardcover Language: English Pages: 368

Similar Books

We Could Be Beautiful: A Novel
All the Missing Girls: A Novel
Under the Harrow: A Novel
Stealing People
The Girls in the Garden: A Novel


Comments




Become a fan of Your #1 Source for Kindle eBooks from the Amazon Kindle Store! on Facebook for the inside scoop on latest and most exclusive books.

SimpleTrack