Books > Best Sellers > Bargain Books

Bargain Books

Rating: 4.7 / 5.0 (777 votes)

Released: 1996-09-05

Buying Choices

8 new from $20.32
21 used from $12.91
1 collectible from $49.99

(as of 2012-10-06 21:37:54 PST)

The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate by Gary Chapman


In The Five Love Languages, Dr. Gary Chapman talks about how different people express love in different ways. Some people are verbal, expressing their love in words. Others may never speak their affection, yet they show it by the things they do.

Sadly, many couples look to receive love the same way they give it, misunderstanding their spouses. This can lead to quarrels, hurt feelings, and even divorce. However, if you understand each other's love languages, you can learn to give and receive love more effectively.~

Check All Offers Add to Wish List Customer Reviews

Editorial Review

Unhappiness in marriage often has a simple root cause: we speak different love languages, believes Dr. Gary Chapman. While working as a marriage counselor for more than 30 years, he identified five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. In a friendly, often humorous style, he unpacks each one. Some husbands or wives may crave focused attention; another needs regular praise. Gifts are highly important to one spouse, while another sees fixing a leaky faucet, ironing a shirt, or cooking a meal as filling their “love tank.” Some partners might find physical touch makes them feel valued: holding hands, giving back rubs, and sexual contact. Chapman illustrates each love language with real-life examples from his counseling practice.

How do you discover your spouse’s – and your own – love language? Chapman’s short questionnaires are one of several ways to find out. Throughout the book, he also includes application questions that can be answered more extensively in the beautifully detailed companion leather journal (an exclusive set). Each section of the journal corresponds with a chapter from the book, offering opportunities for deeper reflection on your marriage.

Although some readers may find choosing to love a spouse that they no longer even like –hoping the feelings of affection will follow later– a difficult concept to swallow, Chapman promises that the results will be worth the effort. “Love is a choice,” says Chapman. “And either partner can start the process today.” –Cindy Crosby. This text refers to the Exclusive Journal & Paperback Book Set.

Book Details

Author: Gary Chapman Publisher: Northfield Publish.. Binding: Hardcover Language: English Pages: 192

Similar Books

The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts
The 5 Love Languages Men's Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts
The Five Love Languages Singles Edition
The Heart of the 5 Love Languages
The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships


Become a fan of Your #1 Source for Kindle eBooks from the Amazon Kindle Store! on Facebook for the inside scoop on latest and most exclusive books.